Leaked list ranks Labour MPs by “hostility” to Corbyn


PLP Labour MPs Corbyn

Allies of Jeremy Corbyn have drawn up a secret list ranking Labour MPs according to their loyalty to the party leader.

The league table grades MPs from “core” to “hostile” based on their views of the party leadership.

Sadiq Khan, the Labour candidate for the London mayoralty, and Rosie Winterton, are among those included in the “hostile” group judged to be most sceptical about Corbyn.

Several other major party figures, such as Ed Miliband and Alan Johnson, are ranked in the penultimate section described as “core group negative”, according to a leaked version obtained by The Times – for which Jeremy Corbyn’s office has denied responsibility.

The other categories are “core group”, which includes those judged most loyal to Corbyn, including John McDonnell, Dianne Abbott and Clive Lewis; “core group plus”; and “neutral but not hostile”.

The are a handful of omissions, such as Conor McGinn and Jim McMahon, though McMahon’s predecessor Michael Meacher, who passed away in October, is present with the letters “RIP” by his name.

The Times claims the list comes from a member of staff from the leader’s office and was written in January.

A spokesperson for Corbyn denied responsibility for the list, telling The Times: “It doesn’t come from this office and we have no knowledge of it.”

The smallest category is the core group, with only 19 MPs. The largest group is the “neutral” group, with 73 members.

Dan Jarvis and Jess Phillips, two possible future leadership contenders, both sit in the “core group negative” section. 

If Corbyn were subject to a leadership challenge, he would be likely to rely on the nominations of all of the “core” section – should the existing rules remain in force. He would only have to win over one in every three of the MPs in the “core group plus” category in order to appear on the ballot paper.

Here is the full list:

Andy McDonald Andy Slaughter Alan Whitehead Alan Johnon Alan Campbell
Catherine Smith Angela Rayner Adrian Bailey Alan Meale Alison McGovern
Dennis Skinner Alex Cunningham Andrew Gwynne Angela Smith Ann Coffey
Diane Abbott Albert Owen Andy Burnham Anna Turley Barry Sheerman
Grahame Morris Catherine West Andrew Smith Ed Miliband Caroline Flint
Ian Lavery Margaret Greenwood Angela Eagle Ben Bradshaw Chris Evans
Ian Mearns Carolyn Harris Ann Clwyd Bridget Phillipson Chris Leslie
Imran Hussain Chinyelu Onwurah Barbara Keeley Diana Johnson Chuka Umunna
Jeremy Corbyn Christina Rees Barry Gardiner Daniel Zeichner Elizabeth Kendall
John McDonnell Dave Anderson Bill Esterson Dan Jarvis Emma Reynolds
Jon Trickett Dawn Butler Catherin McKinnell Derek Twigg Fiona Mactaggart
Kate Osamor David Winnick Chris Bryant Frank Field Graham Jones
Kelvin Hopkins Debbie Abrahams Chris Matheson Gareth Thomas Harriet Harman
RIP Michael Meacher Emily Thornberry Clive Betts George Howarth Ian Austin
Rebecca Long-Bailer Emma Lewell-Buck Clive Efford Geoffrey Robinson Ivan Lewis
Ronnie Campbell Vicky Foxcroft Colleen Fletcher Gloria de Piero Jamie Reed
Richard Burgon Harry Harpham David Crausby Graham Allen John Woodcock
Clive Lewis Helen Goodman David Hanson Hilary Benn Luciana Berger
Rachael Maskell Holly Lynch Derek Twigg Ian Murray Margaret Hodge
Ian Lucas Gavin Shuker Jo Cox Mark Tami
Jo Stevens Geraint Davies Jenny Chapman Mary Creagh
Kate Hollern Gerald Jones Joan Ryan Melanie Onn
Karen Buck Gerald Kaufman John Mann Michael Dugher
Karl Turner Gisela Stuart John Spellar Pat McFadden
Keir Starmer Gordon Marsden Jon Ashworth Phil Wilson
Kevin Brennan Graham Stringer Julie Elliott Rachel Reeves
Khalid Mahmood Heidi Alexander Kate Green Simon Danczuk
Liz McInnes Helen Hayes Keith Vaz Rosie Winterton
Lilian Greenwood Helen Jones Kerry McCarthy Tom Blenkinsop
Lindsay Hoyle Huw Irrance-Davies Kevan Jones Sadiq Khan
Louise Haigh Iain Wright Liam Byrne Stephen Twigg
Lisa Nandy Jack Dromey Louise Ellman Siobhain McDonagh
Marie Rimmer Jeff Smith Lucy Powell Stella Creasy
Mary Glindon Jessica Morden Lyn Brown Toby Perkins
Nick Thomas-Symonds Jim Cunningham Margaret Beckett Tristram Hunt
Owen Smith Jim Dowd Maria Eagle Yvette Cooper
Pat Glass Jim Fitzpatrick Meg Hillier
Paula Sheriff John Healey Natascha Engel
Rob Marris David Lammy Neil Coyle
Rosie Cooper Jon Cruddas Richard Burden
Rupa Huq Judith Cummins Ruth Smeeth
Roberta Blackman-Woods Julie Cooper Rob Flello
Sarah Champion Kate Green Shabana Mahmood
Sharon Hodgson Karin Smyth Stephen Doughty
Steve Rotheram Kate Hoey Stephen Kinnock
Stephen Hepburn Kevin Barron Jess Phillips
Sue Hayman Madeleine Moon Jonathan Reynolds
Susan Elan Jones Mark Hendrick Steve Reed
Teresa Pearce Matthew Pennycook Stephen Pound
Tom Watson Mike Gapes
Valerie Vaz Mike Kane
Vernon Coaker Naseem Shah
Virenda Sharma Nia Giffith
Wayne David Nic Dakin
Yasmin Qureshi Nick Brown
John Cryer Nick Smith
Paul Blomfield
Paul Farrelly
Paul Flynn
Peter Dowd
Peter Kyle
Ruth Cadbury
Rushanara Ali
Roger Godsiff
Seema Malhotra
Steve McCabe
Stephen Timms
Tulip Siddiq
Thangham Debbonaire
Wes Streeting
Yvonne Fovargue

More from LabourList


We provide our content free, but providing daily Labour news, comment and analysis costs money. Small monthly donations from readers like you keep us going. To those already donating: thank you.

If you can afford it, can you join our supporters giving £10 a month?

And if you’re not already reading the best daily round-up of Labour news, analysis and comment…