Junior front bench roles


By Mark Ferguson / @markfergusonuk

Ed Miliband has made good on his talk of a “New Generation”, by promoting several of the 2010 intake of MPs to junior shadow ministerial roles.

Ed’s team will be joined by new MPs including Rachel Reeves, Johnny Reynolds, Tom Greatrex, Michael Dugher, Luciana Berger, Gloria De Piero and Gemma Doyle. Chuka Umunna and Anne McGuire have also been appointed as PPS to Ed Miliband. Speaking this afternoon, Ed Miliband said:

“I am delighted with Labour’s front bench team. I am particularly pleased that I could bring in a new generation of talent, whilst also using the experience of a broad range of Labour MPs. This is a team from all parts of the party, which will robustly hold the coalition government to account.”

Full list of the junior shadow posts below:

PPS to Ed Miliband: Chuka Umunna and Anne McGuire

DFID: Rushanara Ali and Mark Lazarowicz

Treasury: David Hanson, Chris Leslie and Kerry McCarthy

Foreign Office: John Spellar, Stephen Twigg, Wayne David and Emma Reynolds

Equalities: Fiona MacTaggart

Home Office: Vernon Coaker, Phil Woolas, Gerry Sutcliffe, Diane Johnson and Shabana Mahmood

Education: Kevin Brennan, Sharon Hodgson, Iain Wright and Toby Perkins

Justice: Chris Bryant (Constitutional and political reform), Helen Goodman, Andy Slaughter and Rob Flello

DWP: Stephen Timms, Margaret Curran, Rachel Reeves and Karen Buck

BIS: Gareth Thomas, Ian Lucas, Gordon Banks, Gordon Marsden, Nia Griffith and Chi Onwurah

Health: Diane Abbott (public health), Emily Thornberry, Derek Twigg and Liz Kendell

Communities and Local Government: Alison Seabeck, Barbara Keeley, Jack Dromey and Chris Williamson

Defence: Kevan Jones, Michael Dugher, Russell Brown and Gemma Doyle

Energy and Climate Change: Luciana Berger and Huw Irranca-Davies

Shadow deputy leader of the house: Helen Jones

Transport: John Woodcock, Jim Fitzpatrick and Andrew Gwynne

DEFRA: Willie Bain, Jamie Reed and Peter Soulsby

Northern Ireland: Eric Joyce

Scotland: Tom Greatrex

Wales: Owen Smith

Culture, Media and Sport: Ian Austin and Gloria De Piero

Cabinet Office: Jon Trickett (shadow minister of state – already announced) and Roberta Blackman-Woods

Shadow solicitor-general: Catherine McKinnell

Deputy chief whip – Alan Campbell

Pairing whip – Tony Cunningham

Whips – Lyn Brown, Mark Tami and David Wright

Assistant whips – Stephen Pound, David Hamilton, Dave Anderson, Angela C Smith, Phil Wilson, Lilian Greenwood, Jonathan Reynolds and Graham Jones

Lords Chief Whip: Rt Hon Lord Bassam of Brighton

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email