Which unions have backed Corbyn or Smith in the Labour leadership contest?

11th August, 2016 12:22 pm

Most of the major trade unions have now named their preferred winner in the Labour leadership contest. Here is our quick run-down of TU endorsements, alongside their 2015 nominations.

Union Nomination (2016) Nomination (2015)
Aslef Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Bectu Yet to declare Did not declare
BFAWU Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Community Owen Smith Yvette Cooper
CWU Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Fire Brigades Union Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
GMB Owen Smith Did not declare
Musicians union Owen Smith Andy Burnham
National Union of Mineworkers Yet to declare Yvette Cooper
TSSA Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Ucatt Jeremy Corbyn Andy Burnham
Unison Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Unite Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn
Usdaw Owen Smith Andy Burnham


The RMT and the Prison Officers’ Association, which are not affiliated to Labour, both supported Corbyn last year. The RMT has backed Corbyn again this year but the POA is yet to declare. The FBU affiliated to Labour in November last year, meaning it did not have a formal link with the party when it made its nomination last summer.

Value our free and unique service?

LabourList has more readers than ever before - but we need your support. Our dedicated coverage of Labour's policies and personalities, internal debates, selections and elections relies on donations from our readers.

If you can support LabourList’s unique and free service then please click here.

To report anything from the comment section, please e-mail [email protected]

LabourList Daily Email

Everything Labour. Every weekday morning

Share with your friends