Meet Labour’s 53 new MPs

Labour's new MPs

Labour have a higher proportion of women and minority ethnic MPs than before thanks to their latest intake. 53 new Labour MPs were elected last week, of which 65% are women, and 15% are from black, Asian or minority ethnic (BAME) backgrounds.

That means that 99 Labour MPs are women – 42% of the Parliamentary Labour Party (PLP). This is a rise from 81 in 2010 (particularly impressive given the number of seats Labour lost), but is still just shy of the 101 women MPs Labour had in 1997. The Tories returned more women than ever before to the Commons, but at 68 is still a far smaller number than Labour has seen over the past two decades.

The new intake also brings up the proportion of BAME MPs in the PLP to 10%, an increase from 6% in 2010.

Below you can see a list of the new MPs, who posed for a picture with acting leader Harriet Harman outside Parliament earlier today.



Leeds East Burgon Richard
Brent Central Butler Dawn
Brentford and Isleworth Cadbury Ruth
Burnley Cooper Julie
Batley and Spen Cox Jo
Bermondsey and Old Southwark Coyle Neil
Bradford South Cummins Judith
Bristol West Debbonaire Thangam
Bootle Dowd Peter
Coventry North East Fletcher Colleen
Lewisham, Deptford Foxcroft Vicky
Wirral West Greenwood Margaret
Sheffield, Heeley Haigh Louise
Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough Harpham Harry
Swansea East Harris Carolyn
Dulwich and West Norwood Hayes Helen
Workington Hayman Sue
Blackburn Hollern Kate
Ealing Central and Acton Huq Rupa
Bradford East Hussain Imran
Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney Jones Gerald
Aberavon Kinnock Stephen
Hove Kyle Peter
Norwich South Lewis Clive
Salford and Eccles Long Bailey Rebecca
Halifax Lynch Holly
Ellesmere Port and Neston Madders Justin
Wolverhampton South West Marris Rob
City of Chester Matheson Chris
St Helens North McGinn Conor
Great Grimsby Onn Melanie
Greenwich and Woolwich Pennycook Matthew
Birmingham, Yardley Phillips Jess
Ashton-under-Lyne Rayner Angela
Neath Rees Christina
St Helens South and Whiston Rimmer Marie
Enfield North Ryan Joan
Bradford West Shah Naseem
Dewsbury Sherriff Paula
Hampstead and Kilburn Siddiq Tulip
Stoke-on-Trent North Smeeth Ruth
Lancaster and Fleetwood Smith Catherine
Manchester, Withington Smith Jeff
Bristol South Smyth Karin
Holborn and St Pancras Starmer Keir
Cardiff Central Stevens Jo
Ilford North Streeting Wes
Torfaen Thomas-Symonds Nick
Hornsey and Wood Green West Catherine
Cambridge Zeichner Daniel
York Central Maskell Rachael
Edmonton Osamor Kate
Redcar Turley Anna


Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email