Corbyn re-elected as Labour leader with bigger landslide than last year

24th September, 2016 11:56 am


Jeremy Corbyn has emerged victorious from the Labour leadership contest, beating off a challenge from his former frontbencher Owen Smith.

Corbyn was re-elected today in another landslide win, replicating his success in last year’s contest and winning over 60 per cent of the vote.

The result was announced in a special leadership conference in Liverpool ahead of the party’s annual conference.

Jeremy Corbyn won 313,209 votes (61.8 per cent) to Owen Smith’s 193,229 votes (38.2%).

The full breakdown of votes is as follows:

Total votes Percentage
Jeremy Corbyn  313,209  61.80%
Owen Smith  193,229  38.20%


Jeremy Corbyn Owen Smith
Members  168,216  116,960
Registered supporters  84,918  36,599
Affiliated supporters  60,075  




Turn out 77.6%
Spoilt ballots 1,042
Ballot distributed 654,006
Valid votes cast 506,438

Value our free and unique service?

LabourList has more readers than ever before - but we need your support. Our dedicated coverage of Labour's policies and personalities, internal debates, selections and elections relies on donations from our readers.

If you can support LabourList’s unique and free service then please click here.

To report anything from the comment section, please e-mail [email protected]

LabourList Daily Email

Everything Labour. Every weekday morning

Share with your friends