Momentum makes further gains in target seat selections

Selection contests in the target seats of Milton Keynes South, North East Derbyshire and Sherwood concluded over the weekend, making further progress on Labour’s aim to choose parliamentary candidates as quickly as possible ahead of the next election.

Hannah O’Neill will be Labour’s PPC in Milton Keynes South again after winning the selection race against Emily Darlington.

The Momentum-backed deputy leader of the local council turned the seat into a key target when she slashed the Tory majority from 9,000 votes to under 1,700 at the last election.

O’Neill received congratulations on Twitter from Jon Lansman himself.

North East Derbyshire‘s Labour members selected Momentum candidate Chris Peace over prominent Labour activist and feminist campaigner Bex Bailey. Peace is a councillor in neighbouring Sheffield and was a teacher before retraining to become a legal aid lawyer.

North East Derbyshire had been represented by Labour since 1935 until it was lost to the Tories in June. Peace will be standing against Lee Rowley, who has a slim majority of 2,861.

Sherwood CLP has chosen Jerry Hague over Mike Pringle, who fought the seat in June and was locally seen as a unity candidate. Hague was nominated by GMB, CWU and Usdaw to stand against Tory incumbent Mark Spencer, who has been in post since 2010 after gaining the seat from Labour.

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email