Labour NEC, CAC and NCC elections

Luke Akehurst

By Luke Akehurst / @lukeakehurst

For the geekier Labour watchers amongst you, the nominations have closed on a number of internal Labour elections that take place at Annual Conference:


Division I – Trade Unions

13 candidates nominated for 12 places (at least 6 must be women):

Rebecca Peterson ASLEF
Andy Kerr CWU – incumbent
Mary Turner GMB – incumbent
Andy Worth GMB – incumbent
Harriet Yeo TSSA – incumbent
Jim Kennedy UCATT – incumbent
Keith Birch UNISON – incumbent
Wendy Nichols UNISON
Jennie Formby UNITE
Rachael Maskell UNITE – incumbent
Martin Mayer UNITE
Paddy Lillis USDAW – incumbent

I would expect this to boil down into a contest between ASLEF which is more leftwing but smaller and the larger but more moderate Community for the final slot of the 12.

Incumbent members Norma Stephenson (UNISON and current NEC Chair), Cath Speight (UNITE and current Chair of Organisation Committee) and Chris Weldon (UNITE) are not restanding so this represents a loss of quite a few very experienced members of the TU section of the NEC.

Division II – Socialist Societies

1 seat – uncontested

Connor McGinn – Labour Party Irish Society

Connor replaces Simon Wright of LGBT Labour.


The NCC deals with disciplinary matters.

Two elected uncontested

Richard Ascough GMB
Lee Vasey UNITE

Two seats

Rose Burley (incumbent) elected uncontested

Second seat is between:
Kevin Hepworth (incumbent) – 25 nominations
Mark James (Grassroots Alliance supported) – 39 nominations
John Wiseman (Further to the left than the Grassroots Alliance) – 17 nominations

Conference Arrangements Committee – CLP Section

Two to be elected – at least one woman

Sue Anderson – 1 nomination
Presley Antoine – 1 nomination
Michael Clarke – 1 nomination
Catherine Donovan – 47 nominations (Grassroots Alliance supported)
Ann Groves – 1 nomination
Robert Gunn – 1 nomination
Gary Heather – 40 nominations (Grassroots Alliance supported)
Seema Malhotra – 82 nominations
Martin Phillips – 28 nominations
Rachel Reeves MP – 34 nominations
John Wiseman – 6 nominations

This blog was first posted at Luke Akehurst’s blog.

Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email