How will each Labour MP vote on Equal Marriage?

Today much of the interest will be in the size of the Tory “rebellion” (it’s technically not a rebellion as it’s a “free vote”) over Equal Marriage. Labour MPs have also been offered a free vote on Equal Marriage, and thanks to research carried out by LGBT Labour and exclusively revealed below, we know how the vast majority of Labour MPs will be voting. All of the Shadow Cabinet will be backing Equal Marriage, but it’s worth noting that five Shadow Ministers (Tony Cunningham, Stephen Pound, Rob Flello, Gavin Shuker and Stephen Timms) are not believed to be backing Equal Marriage, with 3 – Cunningham, Pound and Flello – voting against and the other two abstaining.

The full list* is below:

Voting Against -13

Joe Benton
Sir Tony Cunningham
Jim Dobbin
Brian Donohoe
Robert Flello
Mary Glindon
Roger Godsiff
Paul Goggins
Michael McCann
Jim McGovern
Paul Murphy
Stephen Pound
Jim Sheridan

Abstaining – 5

Alex Cunningham
Austin Mitchell
Gavin Shuker
Stephen Timms
Virendra Sharma

Voting For – 225

Adrian Bailey
Alan Johnson
Alastair Darling
Albert Owen
Alison McGovern
Alison Seabeck
Anas Sarwar
Andrew Gwynne
Andrew Love
Andrew Miller
Andrew Slaughter
Andrew Smith
Andy Burnham
Andy McDonald
Andy Sawford
Angela Eagle
Angela Smith
Ann Clywd
Ann McKetchin
Anne Coffey
Anne McGuire
Barbara Keeley
Barry Gardiner
Barry Sheerman
Ben Bradshaw
Bill Esterton
Bob Ainsworth
Bridget Phillipson
Caroline Flint
Cathy Jamieson
Chi Onwurah
Chris Bryant
Chris Evans
Chris Leslie
Chris Ruane
Chris Williamson
Chuka Ummuna
Clive Betts
Clive Efford
Dai Harvard
Dame Anne Begg
Dame Joan Ruddock
Dame Margaret Beckett
Dame Tessa Jowell
Dan Jarvis
Dave Watts
David Anderson
David Blunkett
David Hamilton
David Hanson
David Heyes
David Lammy
David Miliband
David Winnick
David Wright
Debbie Abrahams
Dennis Skinner
Diana Johnson
Diane Abbott
Douglas Alexander
Dr Alan Whitehead
Dr Jack Dromey
Dr Stella Creasy
Dr Tristram Hunt
Ed Balls
Ed Miliband
Emily Thornberry
Emma Reynolds
Fabian Hamilton
Fiona MacTaggart
Fiona O’Donnell
Frank Dobson
Frank Doran
Frank Field
Frank Roy
Gareth Thomas
Gerry Sutcliffe
Gemma Doyle
Geoffrey Robinson
George Howarth
Geraint Davies
Gisela Stuart
Glenda Jackson
Gloria De Piero
Gordon Banks
Gordon Brown
Gordon Marsden
Graeme Morrice
Graham Allen
Graham Jones
Graham Morris
Graham Stringer
Gregg Mclymont
Harriet Harman
Hazel Blears
Heidi Alexander
Helen Goodman
Helen Jones
Hilary Benn
Hugh Bayley
Huw Irranca-Davies
Hywel Francis
Iain Wright
Ian Austin
Ian Davidson
Ian Lavery
Ian Lucas
Ian Mearns
Ian Murray
Ivan Lewis
Jack Straw
Jamie Reed
Jenny Chapman
Jeremy Corbyn
Jessica Morden
Jim Cunningham
Jim Dowd
Jim Fitzpatrick
Jim Murphy
Jimmy Hood
Joan Whalley
John Cruddas
John Cryer
John Denham
John Healey
John Mann
John McDonnell
John Robertson
John Woodcock
Jonathan Reynolds
Jon Trickett
Jonathan Ashworth
Julie Elliot
Julie Hilling
Karen Buck
Karl Turner
Kate Green
Kate Hoey
Katy Clarke
Keith Vaz
Kelvin Hopkins
Kerry McCarthy
Kevan Jones
Kevin Barron
Kevin Brennan
Khalid Mahmood
Liam Byrne
Lillian Greenwood
Linda Riordan
Lisa Nandy
Liz Kendall
Louise Ellman
Luciana Berger
Lucy Powell
Lynn Brown
Madeline Moon
Margaret Curran
Margaret Hodge
Maria Eagle
Mark Hendrick
Mark Lazarowicz
Mark Tami
Martin Caton
Mary Creagh
Meg Hillier
Meg Munn
Michael Connarty
Michael Dugher
Michael Meacher
Mike Gapes
Mike Wood
Natascha Engel
Nia Griffith
Nic Dakin
Nick Brown
Nick Raynsford
Nick Smith
Owen Smith
Pamela Nash
Pat Glass
Pat McFadden
Paul Blomfield
Paul Farrelly
Paul Flynn
Peter Hain
Phil Wilson
Rachel Reeves
Richard Burden
Roberta Blackman-Woods
Ronnie Campbell
Rosie Winterton
Rushanara Ali
Russell Brown
Sadiq Khan
Sandra Osborne
Sarah Champion
Seema Malholtra
Shabana Mahmood
Sharon Hodgson
Shaun Woodward
Sheila Gilmore
Sian James
Simon Danzcuk
Siobhain McDonagh
Stephen Doughty
Stephen Hepburn
Stephen Twigg
Steve McCabe
Steve Reed
Steve Rotherham
Susan Elan Jones
Teresa Pearce
Thomas Docherty
Toby Perkins
Tom Blenkinsop
Tom Greatrex
Tom Harris
Tom Watson
Valerie Vaz
Vernon Coaker
Wayne David
Willie Bain
Yasmin Quershi
Yvette Cooper
Yvonne Fovargue

Voting plans unknown – 12

Alan Campbell
David Crausby
Gerald Kaufman
Iain McKenzie
Lindsay Roy
Tom Clarke
Rosie Cooper
Catherine McKinnell
Sir Alan Meale
George Mudie
John Spellar
Derek Twigg

Can’t vote (Deputy Speakers) – 2

Lindsay Hoyle
Dawn Primarolo

* – The voting plans of 20 Labour MPs are currently unknown. If any of these MPs (or any others) wish to contact us to update or correct and of the information above, we can be reached via [email protected]

More from LabourList


We provide our content free, but providing daily Labour news, comment and analysis costs money. Small monthly donations from readers like you keep us going. To those already donating: thank you.

If you can afford it, can you join our supporters giving £10 a month?

And if you’re not already reading the best daily round-up of Labour news, analysis and comment…