Falkirk – the shortlist

The shortlist for the controversial Falkirk selection will be officially confirmed by the party tomorrow – but we’re able to tell you tonight who the final three candidates are. The shortlist was drawn up by a panel made up of 2 reps each from the NEC and the SEC and one rep from the constituency itself. Falkirk CLP members (or at least those who were members prior to March 2012) will be choosing their candidate next weekend. Here are the candidates:

Pam Duncan is a policy officer for disabled people’s charity Inclusion Scotland, and was a candidate for the NPF last time round. Duncan is aiming to be only the second permanent wheelchair user to be elected to the Commons (following Dame Anne Begg).

Monica Lennon is a councillor in South Lanarkshire and works in the constituency office of shadow energy minister Tom Greatrex.

Karen Whitefield is a former MSP for Airdrie and Shotts, where she was Scottish Labour’s shadow Minister for Children in the Scottish Parliament. She served for 12 years as an MSP before losing her seat in 2011.

Former Falkirk Council Leader Linda Gow – who was a candidate in the original selection process – was not shortlisted. As Karie Murphy has withdrawn from the selection and Gregor Poynton was unable to stand (as the selection is AWS) that means that none of the three original frontrunners for the seat from the original selection will be the candidate in 2015.

The selection meeting is on December 8th


Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email