TSSA to ballot members on Starmer or Long-Bailey, Rayner or Allin-Khan

Elliot Chappell

TSSA will ballot its members to “have the final say” in who it nominates in Labour’s leadership contests, giving them a choice between Keir Starmer or Rebecca Long-Bailey, and Angela Rayner or Rosena Allin-Khan.

The executive body of the transport trade union has selected the four candidates from which members of the political fund will choose in an online ballot next week.

The Labour-affiliated union invited all of the leadership and deputy leadership hopefuls to a meeting of the executive committee to make their pitch for the TSSA’s backing – and seven attended.

Commenting on the move, general secretary Manuel Cortes said: “It was fantastic to have the majority of those seeking to lead our party meet our EC today. It’s a very impressive field and all the candidates are a massive credit to our Labour Party.

“Our EC has decided after meeting and questioning the runners and riders for leader and deputy leader that our members who pay our political levy will have the final say on who our union will nominate.

“It’s their view that either Rebecca Long-Bailey or Keir Starmer will make a great leader of our party and that Angela Rayner and Rosena Allin-Khan also cut the mustard when it comes to becoming our deputy leader.

“Our members will now get the final say, through a ballot, on which of these excellent candidates we will nominate.”

The union has explained that the political fund members will receive an electronic ballot next week, and that the internal election will run until February 12th.

This decision comes as all candidates attempt to secure the support of 5% of CLPs – a total of 33 – or three affiliated organisations, including two trade unions, adding up to 5% of the affiliated membership.

UNISON was the first Labour-affiliated union to declare its support, backing Rayner and Starmer in the contest. Lisa Nandy has received the backing of the National Union of Mineworkers.

The deadline for both affiliated groups and CLPs to nominate their preferred candidates is February 14th.

Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email