Labour release their own letter, signed by businesspeople, supporters and zero hours contract workers

After a Tory supporting letter appeared on the front page of this morning’s Telegraph, the Labour Party have tonight released a letter of their own – signed not only by businesspeople and Labour supporters, but also by many on zero hours contracts – backing Labour’s plans, including cracking down on zero hours contracts.

Update: The party have started letting people add their names to the letter.


The letter has been sent to – and will presumably be splashed on the front page of – the Guardian. Here it is in full:

Dear Sir,

We all care about Britain’s economy and we all have a stake in the future.

We are all working people. Some of us run businesses, large and small. Some of us used to work on zero hours contracts, some of us still do.

We come from all walks of life, this is what Britain looks like.

We believe that the fundamental choice at this election is: who does this country work for? Does it work only for those at the very top or does it work for working people – those trying to make ends meet, working in British businesses across the country to create wealth and support their families?

A symbol of the failure of this Government’s economic plan is the proliferation of zero hour contracts which has helped fuel the low wage, low skill economy that is letting down working people and letting down Britain.

Britain only succeeds when working people succeed. We need a better plan for prosperity. We need a better plan and a better future. We need a Labour Government to put working people first.

Yours faithfully,

Aijaz Ahmad
Mandy Ambrose
Oware Ampem Darko
Stephen Anderson
Jonathan Austin
Stephen Barclay
Ann Barr
Trevor Beattie
Reece Berini
Emily Berrington
Andy Berrington
Fiona Binns
Paul Booth
Stacey Booth
Rema Boumerdassi
Melanie Bowers
Billy Boyle
Katy Bradbury
Matthew Brannigan
Darrell Brett
Matthew Burge
Nathaniel Butler
John Carden
Keith Clarke CBE
Naomi Collins
Kate Cragg
Kevin Craig
Marian Craig
Paul Cumming
Megan Davies
Phil Deary
Stuart Doran
Sean Duffy
Peter Duncan
Arnab Dutt
Arpita Dutt
Christophe Egret
Stephanie Elsy
Dominic Evans
Keith Peter Evans
Efe Ezekiel
Mary Foster
Bryan Fowler
Maria Geogiou
Suzanne George
Ewan Gibbs
Margaret Gildea
Lauren Gilmore
Karen Gould
Sophie Growcoot
Charlie Hanson
Nathan Hardacre
Emily Harvey
Ryan Hebbs
Philip Hedley CBE
Wayne Hemingway MBE
Lee Henshaw
Samuel Higgins
Colin Hind
Deborah Hodson
Martyn Hopkinson
Anna Hudson
Peter Hurst
Alex Ingram
Julie Ingram
Joe Jennings
Paul Johnson
Graham Jones OBE
Jodi Jones
Emma Kane
Ali Kawa
Sophie Kennedy
Phil Loft
Helen Logan
Jo Lynn
Sir Michael Lyons
Richard Marshall
Eugene McCarthy
Billie McGann
Kevin McGrath
Clippy McKenna
Eibhlin McMenamin
Gina Miller
Colin Miller
Louise Mitchell
Reece Moore
Ghulam Murtuza
Jade Nicholls
Tunji Offeyi
Susie Orbach
Rui Paif
Fayyaza Patel
Ashik Shamji Patel
Norman Pickavance
John-Jo Pierce
Claire Pitcher
Keah Pownall
Nicola Purcell
Georgina Ramsey
Robert Robinson
J P Rocks
David Rose
Ian Rosenblatt
Katharine Sadler
Kemi Saidu
Tom Skinner
Natalie Smith
Darren Smith
Raphael Sofoluke
Rory Somerville
Jack Spooner
Danny Start
Florence Stencil-Wade
Vin Sumner
Osman Tango
Alice Tarry
Nick Teige
Kevin Terry
Narinder Thandi
Callie Thorpe
Melanie Todd
George Torr
Nicholas Turnbull
Robin Turner
Emma Vickers
Dale Vince
Stephanie Webster
Stuart Webster
Linzi Williams
Stanley Wilson
George Wippich
Margaret Wood MBE
Derek Wyatt
Rachel Yemm
Baris Yerli
Michael Ziff

Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email