Corbyn unveils new shadow Cabinet after weekend of crisis


shadow cabinet

Jeremy Corbyn today announced a new shadow cabinet line-up in an attempt to shore up his position as leader after a weekend of crisis in the party.

Corbyn promoted loyalists Emily Thornberry and Diane Abbott after losing 14 shadow cabinet ministers in a 24 hour period. This has been followed by the resignations of several junior ministers this morning, with further expected throughout the day.

The departures come after Hilary Benn was sacked for reportedly organising opposition to Corbyn’s leadership following the party’s loss in the EU referendum.

Five of the appointments are Corbyn loyalists from the 2015 intake, with Clive Lewis, Kate Osamor, Rebecca Long-Bailey, Rachael Maskell and Cat Smith moved to senior roles.

Not all new appointments have backed Corbyn in the past. Pat Glass nominated Andy Burnham in last summer’s leadership contest, as did Andy McDonald, Rachael Maskell and Dave Anderson.

Corbyn has confirmed on several occasions that he intends to continue in his role, saying he will not stand down and will stand again in the event of an official challenge.

Here is the full list of appointments

Shadow Foreign Secretary – Emily Thornberry

Shadow Health Secretary – Diane Abbott

Shadow Education Secretary – Pat Glass

Shadow Transport Secretary – Andy McDonald

Shadow Defence Secretary – Clive Lewis

Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Rebecca Long-Bailey

Shadow International Development Secretary – Kate Osamor

Shadow Environment Food and Rural Affairs Secretary – Rachel Maskell

Shadow Voter Engagement and Youth Affairs – Cat Smith

Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary – Dave Anderson


More from LabourList