Fight for Hartlepool as Iain Wright becomes fourth Labour MP to confirm he will step down

19th April, 2017 9:37 am

Iain Wright, MP for Hartlepool since 2004, has announced that he will not stand in the upcoming general election.

Wright had a majority of 3,024 votes at the 2015 general election, becoming an MP when Peter Mandelson stepped down to become a European commissioner.

The MP has been chair of the business, energy and industrial strategy select committee but said today:

Carolyn Harris, MP for Swansea East and shadow home office fire and communities minister, tweeted:

So far Tom Blenkinsop and Alan Johnson have also confirmed that they intend to stand down. Pat Glass has reaffirmed her earlier statement, in the summer of 2016, that she would not stand again for her seat.

Value our free and unique service?

LabourList has more readers than ever before - but we need your support. Our dedicated coverage of Labour's policies and personalities, internal debates, selections and elections relies on donations from our readers.

If you can support LabourList’s unique and free service then please click here.

To report anything from the comment section, please e-mail [email protected]

LabourList Daily Email

Everything Labour. Every weekday morning

Share with your friends