The Labour MPs not seeking reselection ahead of the next election

Below is a list of Labour MPs who have announced that they will not be seeking reselection as a Labour candidate ahead of the next general election. Three of the five Labour MPs who voted in favour of Theresa May’s Brexit deal are stepping down, and six of the total fourteen MPs not wanting to stand again want Brexit implemented.

  • Jim Fitzpatrick, MP for Poplar and Limehouse. Tweeted on Tuesday 25th June. He was first elected as MP for Poplar and Canning Town in 1997. Campaigned for Remain in 2016. Voted for May’s deal in March, although he represents a majority Remain seat.
  • Ronnie Campbell, MP for Blyth Valley. Reported by the Chronicle on Wednesday 26th June. First elected in 1987. A supporter of Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership, having nominated him in 2015. Pro-Brexit; campaigned for Leave in 2016. Abstained on the third meaningful vote and voted for no deal in March.
  • Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley. Tweeted on Wednesday 3rd July. Campaigned for Remain in 2016. Represents a majority Leave seat. Voted for May’s deal three times.
  • Kate Hoey, MP for Vauxhall. Tweeted on Monday 8th July. She was first elected in 1989. Pro-Brexit; campaigned for Leave in 2016. Represents a majority Remain seat. Voted against May’s deal every time and supports no deal.
  • Stephen Twigg, MP for Liverpool West Derby. Tweeted on Monday 8th July. He was MP for Enfield Southgate from 1997 to 2005, then was elected in Liverpool in 2005. He wants to “take on something new”.
  • Stephen Pound, MP for Ealing North. Tweeted by Ealing Labour on Monday 8th July. First elected in 1997. Currently a frontbencher (shadow minister for Northern Ireland).
  • Geoffrey Robinson, MP for Coventry North West. Tweeted on Monday 8th July. First elected in 1976. Standing down “sadly due to ill health”.
  • Teresa Pearce, MP for Erith and Thamesmead. Insta’d on Monday 8th July. First elected in 2010. Majority of just over 10,000.
  • Roberta Blackman-Woods, MP for City of Durham. Letter to members on 9th July. First elected in 2005. Said it was “time to move on largely for family and personal reasons”.
  • Gloria de Piero, MP for Ashfield. Told local members and tweeted on 19th July. First elected in 2010. Reported as standing down due to “intolerance”, but clarified: “I’m not leaving because of ‘intolerance’. I’m just not sure I can sustain the energy + commitment of the last 9 yrs for what could be another 8 + my members and constituents deserve.” Full speech here.
  • Albert Owen, MP for Ynys Môn. Elected in 2001. Explaining his decision, he said: “I simply want to do other things and spend more quality time with my family.” BBC story here.
  • Paul Farrelly, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme. BBC story from September 7th. Has held seat for 18 years but only has a majority of 30. Stepping down to “support” his “young family”.
  • Jim Cunningham, MP for Coventry South. Has served for 27 years, since 1992. Local news story here.
  • John Mann, MP for Bassetlaw. Tweeted confirmation of quitting Commons on September 11th. Voted in favour of May’s deal. Stepping down as an MP to become the government’s ‘antisemitism tsar’ and because he can’t campaign for Corbyn. Being given a peerage.

More from LabourList