Corbynista MPs and backbenchers join together to warn against hard Brexit “disaster”



The right-wing ideology of Tory ministers pushing the country towards a hard Brexit would deliver the worst possible outcome for working people, 90 Labour politicians have warned.

The group of shadow ministers, backbenchers and MEPs say that a hard exit from the EU would be a “disaster” and that falling back on world trade organisation rules would represent “the most destructive, harshest of settlements”, not the “clean break” that some Conservatives suggest, and against the proposal for which people voted.

In an attempt to increase pressure on Theresa May over the terms of a Brexit deal and her apparent marginsalisation among other EU member states, the Labour group says hard Brexiteers must to “swap rhetoric for answers” and criticises slamming their record on trade deals.

“Which sectors do they think can survive facing new trade barriers? Which new trade deals will be signed, when and with whom?” the letter to the Guardian said.

Signatories include shadow business secretary Clive Lewis, former home secretary Alan Johnson, shadow Brexit secretary Sir Keir Starmer and former shadow Europe minister Emma Reynolds.

In one of the biggest interventions by the PLP since the EU referendum, the group describes the result as a “cry” from communities to share in economic gains – not to “remain left behind”, which will only worsen with a harsh settlement.

It comes as various Labour MPs are said to be considering voting against article 50, despite the official party line being the party will not “frustrate” the process.

In a separate development former shadow chancellor Chris Leslie yesterday suggested that the prime minister should delay triggering article 50 and instead focus on the country’s economic problems.

This morning it has been reported that various former Labour ministers are planning to “derail” Brexit, with support from Virgin head Sir Richard Branson.

The letter was signed by various MPs, both front and backbench, and MEPS:

Emma Reynolds MP
Alan Johnson MP
Alison McGovern MP
Ian Murray MP
Graham Jones MP
Stella Creasy MP
Ruth Smeeth MP
Catherine Stihler MEP
Glenis Willmott MEP
Jess Phillips MP
Stephen Kinnock MP
Tom Blenkinsop MP
Wes Streeting MP
Richard Corbett MEP
Chris Leslie MP
Mike Gapes MP
Shabana Mahmood MP
Chris Evans MP
Phil Wilson MP
Ann Coffey MP
Paul Brannen MEP
Mary Creagh MP
Kate Green MP
John Woodcock MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
Chuka Umunna MP
Liz Kendall MP
Liz McInnes MP
Julie Cooper MP
Luciana Berger MP
Jo Stevens MP
Karen Buck MP
Lyn Brown MP
Lilian Greenwood MP
Rupa Huq MP
Margaret Hodge MP
Julie Elliot MP
Angela Smith MP
Adrian Bailey MP
Pat McFadden MP
Louise Haigh MP
Ruth Cadbury MP
Yasmin Qureshi MP
Rushanara Ali MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Lucy Powell MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Tracy Brabin MP
Fiona Mactaggart MP
Tulip Siddiq MP
Kate Osamor MP
Naz Shah MP
Vernon Coaker MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Chris Bryant MP
Wayne David MP
Stephen Timms MP
Jeff Smith MP
Helen Goodman MP
Gareth Thomas MP
David Lammy MP
Lisa Nandy MP
Nic Dakin MP
Chris Matheson MP
Tristram Hunt MP
Kevin Barron MP
Bridget Phillipson MP
Gavin Shuker MP
George Howarth MP
David Hanson MP
Sir Keir Starmer MP
Virendra Sharma MP
Diana Johnson MP
Heidi Alexander MP
Thangam Debbonaire MP
Peter Kyle MP
Sharon Hodgson MP
Carolyn Harris MP
Rachael Maskell MP
Dan Jarvis MP
Matthew Pennycook MP
Daniel Zeichner MP
Mark Hendrick MP
Clive Betts MP
Dawn Butler MP
Clive Lewis MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Liam Byrne MP
Jenny Chapman MP
Paul Blomfield MP

Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email