Updated: The winners, runners and riders for the vacancies in 13 Labour seats


Labour officials are this week interviewing candidates for a host of winnable or safe seats. The resignation of a series of respected MPs, including former home secretary Alan Johnson, has prompted an intense – and quick – competition.

Activists in constituency Labour parties (CLPs) will not be able to choose their own candidate because of the timetable imposed under the “exceptional selections procedure”.

Instead members of Labour’s regional boards and representatives from the ruling national executive will appoint candidates by Friday.

The vacancies, and possible contenders to replace them, are as follows:

Retiring MP: Graham Allen, Nottingham North
Possible contenders: Nottingham councillor and GMB and Co-op Party activist Alex Norris.
Selected: Alex Norris.

Retiring MP: Dave Anderson, Blaydon
Possible contenders: North East MEP and former councillor Paul Brannen; Unison official Mark Ferguson.
Selected: Liz Twist, Gateshead councillor.

Retiring MP: Tom Blenkinsop, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland
Possible contenders: TBC.
Selected: Tracy Harvey, a local councillor.

Retiring MP: Andy Burnham, Leigh
Possible contenders: Wigan councillor Jo Platt; Corbyn aide and ex-MP Katy Clark; NPF rep and former Bury North candidate James Frith, equality campaigner and former PPC Emily Brothers.
Selected: To be announced today.

Retiring MP: Jim Dowd, Lewisham West and Penge
Possible contenders: London Labour vice chair Ellie Reeves; former Richmond Park candidate Christian Wolmar; and entrepreneur Ibrahim Dogus among many others.
Selected: Ellie Reeves.

Retiring MP: Michael Dugher, Barnsley East
Possible contenders: GMB official and former PPC Steph Peacock; Yorkshire and Humber MEP Linda McAvan.
Selected: Steph Peacock.

Retiring MP: Pat Glass, North West Durham
Possible contenders: Northumberland county councillor and Unite member Laura Pidcock.
Selected: Laura Pidcock.

Retiring MP: Alan Johnson, Hull West and Hessle
Possible contenders: Momentum activist and TSSA officer Sam Tarry; Unite member and NPF rep Emma Hardy; and former Corbyn speechwriter David Prescott.
Selected: Emma Hardy.

Retiring MP: Fiona Mactaggart, Slough
Possible contenders: Jayne Lim, a doctor and vice-chair of Chinese for Labour.

Retiring MP: Rob Marris, Wolverhampton South West
Possible contenders: Kamaljeet Jandu, GMB national equality officer.
Selected: TBC

Retiring MP: Andrew Smith, Oxford East
Possible contenders: south-east England MEP Anneliese Dodds.
Selected: Anneliese Dodds.

Retiring MP: Gisela Stuart, Birmingham Edgbaston
Possible contenders: West Midlands MEP Neena Gill.
Selected: Preet kaur Gill, a Sandwell council cabinet member.

Retiring MP: Iain Wright, Hartlepool
Possible contenders: Alan Clark, a Hartlepool councillor; Mike Hill, a Unison regional organiser.
Selected: Mike Hill.

If you know someone who has applied for a retiring MP’s seat then please email [email protected]

Everything Labour.
Every weekday morning.

By clicking ‘subscribe’ you confirm you have read and agree to our privacy policy

More from LabourList

Donate to fund our journalism


Subscribe to our Daily Email